Microsoft SQL Server Erfahrungen

Microsoft SQL Server

4,6 (1 945)
Eine Bewertung schreiben
Relationales Datenbankmanagementsystem für die Datenanalyse

Gesamtbewertung

4,6 /5
(1 945)
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,3/5
Funktionen
4,6/5
Bedienkomfort
4,3/5
Kundenbetreuung
4,3/5

97%
haben diese Anwendung empfohlen
Sortieren nach

1945 Bewertungen

Rene
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Chemikalien
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Solides Produkt

Bewertet am 13.1.2024

Vorteile

Dadurch, dass der Server weit verbreitet ist und die Kompatibilität nahezu überall gegeben findet man diesen wohl in jeden Unternehmen.

Sehr solide, stabil und einfache Updates.

Nachteile

Echte Hochverfügbarkeit leider nur mit der teuren Enterprise Lizenz.

Luca
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Hardware
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Mssql

Bewertet am 29.8.2023

Vorteile

Die simpel gespaltene Oberfläche, die gute Zugriffsrechte Verteilung

Nachteile

Die Installation, da diese im vergleich zu anderen Anbietern lange dauert

Kudakwashe
Kudakwashe
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Data Management made so easy with MS SQL Server

Bewertet am 20.3.2020

Vorteile

For any developer, before first they can this own what their apps are going to be developed in their should think of what server should host their database. I do believe that MS SQL Server is the best on the marketing when comes to data management and administration. The best feature that i really love the most on MS SQL Server is the ability to disable remote execution of your queries and really helps protect data integrity in case your server authentication has been compromised. You can also be rest assured that your data is consistent and accurate at all times. Yes hackers some times can try sql injection but i believe MS SQL Server its the most secure servers around.

Nachteile

The license key for MS SQL might cost you an arm and a leg but at the end of the day its really worth it when you think of a platform where you are able to develop enterprise apps that secure and helps with Business Intelligence.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Oracle Database

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

In the case of Oracle DB vs MS SQL Server, MS SQL Server is easy to manage, easy to configure and has a huge community in case when you are stuck with any problem you are guaranteed to get a solution online.
Hasan
Hasan
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bankwesen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

SQL Server

Bewertet am 25.6.2021

Overall experience is just amazing. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it helped my...

Overall experience is just amazing. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it helped my organization a lot during release upgrade and it made database migrations so smooth.

Vorteile

Microsoft SQL is quite simple to install and configurations are also easy. As it is a relational database management system, it is a perfect tool for data analysts. As it enable users to filter and extract required data in a few seconds. The product comes with a lot of features like Query analyzer, Integration services, Job scheduler and Reporting services as well. Restoration and backup of multiple databases is a great advantage and I found this feature very useful because it helps a lot in restoring databases in case of any disaster. Also, one can easily schedule tasks in job tools section which is also a very helpful feature of this tool.

Nachteile

Well, it occupies more data storage in order to install database engine as compared to other SQL databases. Also, support is pretty much expensive and requires a lot of maintenance. It consumes too much resources to load and start.

Sergio R
Sergio R
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Good RDBMS

Bewertet am 25.6.2022

Vorteile

Very easy to implement and integrate with other systems.

Nachteile

MS SQL Server consumes almost all compute resourses

Enrico
Enrico
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Übersetzung und Lokalisierung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Empowering Enterprise Data Management with MS SQL Server

Bewertet am 16.1.2024

MS SQL Server is the cornerstone of our operations, most of our products are based off it. It just...

MS SQL Server is the cornerstone of our operations, most of our products are based off it. It just works, that's all.

Vorteile

Integration with the MS ecosystem, scalability and reliability of the product.

Nachteile

Licensing costs too high for non express configurations.

Prabhu
Prabhu
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10 000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

All time market leader

Bewertet am 29.8.2020

When comes to business critical it can consume the raw data, process it and provide to the user...

When comes to business critical it can consume the raw data, process it and provide to the user understandable format. More than decades, this software providing tremendous help to business to evolve and reach their goals by fetching data from any formate and load it into structured form and with help of powerful Tsql query languge we able to fetch the right data from database. We can also connect with any visualization tool to provide the better UI(Power BI) to users to take right decision.

Vorteile

1. Optimized storage and querying business critical data.
2. Powerful Tsql Query language.
3. Query execution plan to predict and optimize the data.
4. Query profiler to find out anomaly and query latency.

Nachteile

1. We need to take care of all patching works.
2. We need to take care of all infrastructure scalability(RAM,HDD and IO etc)
3. Server maintenance and outrage time is high.

Lasha
Lasha
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 501–1 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

One of the best DB management systems.

Bewertet am 21.1.2020

I've been using SQL Server for a few years and I haven't had any problems with it except for...

I've been using SQL Server for a few years and I haven't had any problems with it except for partitioning. It's very optimized and stable and due to it being free - it's an amazing choice for small and medium enterprises.

Vorteile

MSSQL comes jam-packed with features. It's standard library is enough to cover the needs of a small enterprise. It is also very stable and can handle large amounts of database exceedingly well. However, my favorite tool is the built-in scripting language - T-SQL. It is very powerful and flexible and lets you do anything you might need.

Nachteile

SQL Server takes up a lot of computing resource. We have a small data warehouse and yet it takes up over 1 TB. Views are not as useful as in Oracle. For example, partitioning a fact table by multiple columns is impossible without a workaround.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Oracle Database

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

SQL Server is free and offers all the features we needed. Oracle is overkill for a hospital.
Giorgi
Giorgi
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bankwesen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 5 001–10 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

A great database system for any purpose

Bewertet am 25.7.2019

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and...

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and terabytes of data, so it's mandatory for DBMS to run smoothly. SQL server does its job extremely well.

Vorteile

SQL server is packed with features. It was a very fun job to implement it and using it is even better. Runs well, built-in tools are useful and plenty.

Nachteile

It takes up quite a bit of resources. Sometimes, tech support isn't very helpful. Otherwise, it's good.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

MongoDB

Warum Microsoft SQL Server gewählt wurde

Oracle didn't offer the needed stability for working with huge databases.

Zuvor genutzte Software

Oracle Database

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server offers more functionality and stability.
Abdul Wahab
Abdul Wahab
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

MSSQL is good and well supported

Bewertet am 22.1.2021

Overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server is good throughout with no major issues.

Overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server is good throughout with no major issues.

Vorteile

I found it quite easy to install, setup and operate. It is supported by almost all programing languages. The interface is simple and user friendly. I found it safe to be accessed remotely. The visualization of data and retrieving data from different sources is found good. The functionalities like Jobs, Stored Procedures, Functions and Views enhance the database development / management experience.

Nachteile

Performance issues faced with large databases. With every version, the license model changes which make it complex.

Sudharshan
Sudharshan
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1 001–5 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

The best is yet to come.

Bewertet am 6.8.2019

great and fulfilling. the Future is definitely bright.

great and fulfilling. the Future is definitely bright.

Vorteile

SQL Server in traditional sense always belonged to a group of mid range companies. Hosting terrabytes of data was never a part of its ideals. But the recent upgrades for its availability on the cloud makes one wonder where it is headed. I think the future for SQL Server is good.

Nachteile

NO SQL functionality does not exist. Although columnar, flat file data sources can exist, the SSAS functionality needs to include a database conversion to a NO SQL database view. This greatly enhances the visibility of a transactional database.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

MongoDB und MariaDB

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

Ease of use and support and readily available on the cloud. Plus being mostly Microsoft shop it helps.sharepoint usage is a big consideration for picking sql server.
Guillermo
Guillermo
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

A good choice as a database manager, but it can be improved.

Bewertet am 9.11.2022

It is good software, as I mentioned before. It syncs well with other Microsoft tools. In almost 2...

It is good software, as I mentioned before. It syncs well with other Microsoft tools. In almost 2 years of use, I feel comfortable when working with this software. I hope that the improvements I mention in the negative points will be included. Otherwise excellent.

Vorteile

I like that it allows me to use my Windows login credentials as user authentication to connect to the server. Plus it integrates easily with other Microsoft programs such as Visual Studio 2022, Business Intelligence tools, etc. I am a Software Engineering student, and I have been testing many database managers. Of all the ones I have used Microsoft SQL Server is the easiest to install and very intuitive regarding the use of its tools. In addition to being a student, I give small tutorials on how to use the software, such as tips for new users, and database backup.

Nachteile

I don't have much to criticize in this space. For me, the Software is very complete. But if I would like you to implement a dark theme throughout the interface, it would be very helpful to rest your eyes and avoid fatigue after hours of work.

Brenten
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Fluggesellschaften/Luftfahrt
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10 000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Powerful and Scalable Database Software

Bewertet am 28.10.2020

Storing large quantities of production data to solve quality and efficiency problems has been a big...

Storing large quantities of production data to solve quality and efficiency problems has been a big use for SQL. All of the reporting and power to analyze data has solved countless puzzles for me in my job capacity. I also have done a lot of database administration for our ERP software and the tiles to tune and optimize have always been very helpful.

Vorteile

One of my favorite things about Microsoft SQL Server is the scalability. Whether you are using the free version for a small program running on a local machine or running an entire factory it is the same basic concept of programming and administration. I really appreciated being able to work to have a database software that could grow and expand when I need it too. Additionally the reporting and automation packages that come with it are super powerful. I would absolutely recommend using Microsoft SQL Server as anyone’s data as software

Nachteile

The biggest con in my opinion is that some of the more advanced features for big data analysis and high availability are in the top tier pricing which can be hard for smaller companies to afford. Other than that I have never not been able to solve a problem with Microsoft SQL.

Masoud
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Einzelhandel
  • Unternehmensgröße: 2–10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

A database system that you can trust your data with!

Bewertet am 10.3.2022

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our...

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our first choice in terms of an RDBMS database and I believe it remains as such for a long time.

Vorteile

I've been using Microsoft SQL Server since version 2000 and I must say that every year the team behind it adds tons of improvements and great new features that keep this software a fantastic competitor in the market.
The database engine is very clever in optimising your queries, giving insights on improvements and dealing with your complex queries.
Microsoft's TSQL is very easy to understand and very easy to grasp even though in recent years the team have introduced more complex query templates but still it stands out impressively amongst the others.
I also love that they have released the full version as a Developer version where you can try all the software's great features without any cost at all!

Nachteile

The huge cost difference between the Standard and the Enterprise version is a put off as certain features like table partitioning should be part of the Standard version.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1 001–5 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

best of server

Bewertet am 25.9.2019

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best...

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best of easy use for developers as well as Administrators

Vorteile

It was easy of access to manage SQL server agent can manage most required part with automate rather than doing manual

And also design with more user friendly compare with others

Nachteile

While queries of data some times have to convert it to tostring, but I hope its possible to identify and convert automatically, then developers will reduse their codings

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 201–500 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

every day using MS SQL Server

Bewertet am 19.1.2022

have +10 years experience in SQl server , i have create a lot of apps depend on it as database...

have +10 years experience in SQl server , i have create a lot of apps depend on it as database storage engine

Vorteile

- every day i use it through management studio or from C# Code by using Entity framework and you can depend on it in any scale application ( small - medium - and large )
- easy integrate with applications
- good security
-have a good Replication feature

Nachteile

it expensive compared by other competitors

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Oracle Database

Warum Microsoft SQL Server gewählt wurde

MS SQl server more efficient in medium / large scale
Robert
Robert
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: Selbstständig
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

SQL Server Great for SQL Database Creation

Bewertet am 19.8.2019

Overall, my experience with SQL Server has been pleasant. If I had employees, I would strongly...

Overall, my experience with SQL Server has been pleasant. If I had employees, I would strongly recommend them to use is as their main source to create SQL databases. It makes sense to use a platform that is specialized and can be a one stop shop. That is what SQL Server is.

Vorteile

I love the ability to create SQL databases separate from Visual Studio. Although you can create databases in VS, I like how SQL Server Management Studio is designed specifically for database creation. Plus, it has advanced features for database admins which Visual Studio does not. After creating a database, the admin can migrate the SQL Server database in Visual Studio.

Nachteile

It is difficult to learn if someone at a beginning level is using it. They will need to utilize the many tutorials provided within EDX.org, youtube or Udemy (to name a few) to learn it. It makes sense if you know how to create SQL databases and the SQL language prior to using it. If not, I suggest to learn SQL first prior to jumping into SQL Server to do database management.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

Microsoft Visual Studio

Warum Microsoft SQL Server gewählt wurde

More specialized and can do more with developing SQL databases. Visual Studio is great but only basic database creation can be done.

Zuvor genutzte Software

Microsoft Visual Studio

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

As stated, more specialized and it is focused more on SQL database creation. Admins can do more with SQL Server Studio than Visual Studio.
Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Essen & Trinken
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1 001–5 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

SQL Server 2017 on Linux! It works..

Bewertet am 21.5.2020

I have been a SQL Database administrator for over 10 years. I recently had the challenge of...

I have been a SQL Database administrator for over 10 years. I recently had the challenge of implementing it in Linux environments, mainly due to the low cost of licensing / subscription.
The product behaves in a very stable way, and delivers superior processing capacity (performance).

Vorteile

Operating system licensing is always an additional cost. What I like most about SQL for Linux is the possibility to reduce this cost drastically, with an amazing OS and extremely stable SQL in this environment. Adjusting the environment variables for SQL is a differentiator.

Nachteile

The lack of reporting services is a terrible shortage.
It could have an alternative in Apache, or even allow integration with Windows servers for this demand.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness
  • Unternehmensgröße: 10 000+ Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

Easy to use. Lots of possibilities

Bewertet am 11.7.2019

We use this for reporting and keeping a health of the business

We use this for reporting and keeping a health of the business

Vorteile

It is easy to use. it uses standard structure T SQl language. Reporting options are not limited at all. It is very good and quick with queries. With 2017 there is a lot of changes and improvements on the fly queries as well as self monitoring of Data sources and server health. It works well with all microsoft products and easily can send things to SSIS or Microsoft office excel automatically.

Nachteile

It is hard to use with products not owned by microsoft. It is not easy to pull data directly from oracle. There are a lot of known driver issues that are being worked on. In the cloud as it is now it runs a little slower.

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen

VirtualBox

Gründe für den Wechsel zu Microsoft SQL Server

We use both but SQl server is our main data source Oracle is used to warehouse all the data
Griffin
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Gastgewerbe
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1 001–5 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

SQL Server is the backbone of my life!

Bewertet am 4.2.2019

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury...

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury casino data (gaming, hotel, food & beverage, entertainment, etc.) and query that for information that we then turn into automated or ad-hoc reports. These then go to the operators of the business as well as the executives who analyze the reports and make better decisions daily, weekly, and monthly. The goal is simple: just become better over time...better than you were last year, last month, last week. And SQL Server is the vehicle to empower your organization to find those valuable insights hiding in plain sight to do just that!

Vorteile

I absolutely LOVE SQL Server. It is my favorite software to use because the possibilities for query-writing are endless. I would say this is the most reliable and flexible of all the database software I have ever used. SQL Server allows you to write in T-SQL (T = transact, SQL = structured query language), which means that you can create variables, use temp tables, and write code in a procedural format that runs akin to a module in other programming languages. We use SQL Server 2008 at work, though I am really loving the new features in the latest version (as of today) SQL Server 2016.

Overall, SQL Server is a platform for creating table schema, storing information, and then writing scripts (queries) to manipulate that data--to find insights that are useful to making better business decisions. The interface is easy to understand, the error-checking is strong (and actually tells you what is wrong). It doesn't hold your hand like other simplified coding languages, but it becomes very reliable and easy to use once you obtain a solid foundation in relational database theory and SQL language.

Nachteile

Hmm...if I had to speak ill of SQL Server...I would probably say that it is a bit tricky to get up to speed quickly with. There's a lot to it, so to speak, so it's taken me the better part of five years working in the data analytics industry to finally say that I feel I am completely proficient in utilizing the software to its full potential. Topics such as query optimization remain my areas of biggest weakness. I can write a query to pull any kind of desired information; however, the art lies in being able to pull it quickly and with reasonable efficiency. If your query takes more than 15 minutes (or even hours!) to run, it's probably not written correctly and likely poses a major threat to the server you are connecting to (and tying up!) in the process. I would like more information in the software (GUIs, warnings, etc.) regarding poorly-written queries from an execution standpoint.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Very reliable, relatively easy-to-use, and reasonably-priced compared to Oracle

Bewertet am 5.10.2017

Our entire product line (IIS-based web applications) relies on SQL Server. Without it, our business...

Our entire product line (IIS-based web applications) relies on SQL Server. Without it, our business wouldn't function at all.

Vorteile

As a Systems Administrator, MS SQL Server is one of the easiest DBMS you can use from a management perspective. SQL Server Management Studio is a very robust client, and it allows you to configure everything from either the GUI or SQL scripts. No digging into config files, calling apps from command line, etc. User management in SQL server is easy and straight-forward while being EXTREMELY granular. Plus, it easily connects to Active Directory if you so desire.

The software is very reliable. MySQL can have issues during backups, but not SQL Server. Once you get it set up and configured properly (again, not hard to do), you can leave it running for months without encountering problems.

While SQL Server is by no means cheap, compared to the other enterprise-level DBMS like Oracle, it's quite reasonable. MySQL is free, but it's quite limited when you do a feature-by-feature comparison with SQL Server.

If you're on the fence, install an Express instance (up to 10GB databases with some limitations). You won't be disappointed.

Nachteile

Like a lot of other Microsoft software, the installer is pretty bloated with prerequisites, components, etc. But that's a fairly small nitpick.

I will also say that RAM management in SQL Server isn't perfect. SQL will, as long as it is regularly used, consume all of the RAM you have allocated it. By default, that setting is 2 petabytes of RAM, so it will slow your system to an absolute crawl, consuming everything it can to the detriment of the OS itself. This means you need to manually allocated a reasonable amount of RAM to SQL knowing full-well that it will likely consume this RAM at all times. That's fine for dedicated database servers, but it's not ideal for people running SQL on laptops.

Aside from that, I have very few complaints about SQL Server.

Rony
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Unternehmensgröße: 11–50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Powerhouse of Data Management

Bewertet am 23.6.2023

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness...

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness and scalability have empowered us to efficiently manage and analyze our data. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities have ensured optimal performance for our applications. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies has enhanced our productivity and workflow. While there were some areas for improvement, such as the learning curve and occasional performance issues, Microsoft SQL Server remains a reliable and powerful solution for data management. It has been instrumental in helping us unlock valuable insights and make data-driven decisions.

Vorteile

Microsoft SQL Server impressed me with its standout features that revolutionized our data management experience. The robustness and scalability of the platform allowed us to handle large volumes of data with ease. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities ensured optimal performance and fast retrieval of information. The comprehensive security measures instilled confidence in the protection of our data assets. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies enhanced our overall productivity. Microsoft SQL Server has become an indispensable tool, empowering us to effectively store, manage, and analyze our data.

Nachteile

While Microsoft SQL Server offers powerful data management capabilities, there were a few aspects that left room for improvement. One drawback was the complexity of the platform, which required a steep learning curve and technical expertise. The licensing costs, especially for enterprise editions, might be a limiting factor for smaller organizations. Occasionally, the platform's performance could be affected when handling extremely large datasets. The documentation, while extensive, could benefit from more detailed examples and tutorials for complex scenarios. Despite these limitations, Microsoft SQL Server remains a robust and reliable choice for data management, but addressing these areas for improvement would further enhance its usability.

Aníbal
Aníbal
Gesamtbewertung
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 7.0 /10

My experience with sql Server has been satisfactory, I have done punctual work.

Bewertet am 7.7.2018

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify...

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify developments thanks to the Transact-SQL so it has saved me programming time, the services that I have under my responsibility at work are stable, this gives confidence and tranquility for me and for my bosses, I made restorations in record time.

Vorteile

This software has as its first advantage that it is a Microsoft product and has the full support of the company and the stability of a well-tested product. At the basic level, I find it very efficient, the sql responses are fast and there are almost no service interruptions, which is a point in its favor when I use it, I find the Transact-SQL language that is used very powerful, I was able to assign commercial processes of the application in the database that allows multiple applications to use them and it is not necessary to program these functions in each application, the SQL server administration tools are very well thought to be all in a Microsoft environment, the integration is perfect, they are very intuitive to find new functions, they do not require prior knowledge, what is important to train new staff, another thing that I like about this software is the scalability that can start with a small database and grow, in A past project had transactional tables that inserted millions of records daily. I like security, it is possible to assign specific permissions to different users who perform different activities within the same database, this makes me trust the product.

Nachteile

The least I like is undoubtedly the cost SQL-Server does not have a good cost-benefit ratio, other brands offer better benefits in this regard, another point is the high consumption of RAM, it is necessary to allocate a large amount of resources for this And to guarantee the quality of the service, until now I have not found a hosting provider that offers me a PHP server with Sql-server. This stopped once a new development for a client was disappointing to me. It is difficult to learn in a particular way, the free versions of this software are very limited and the certifications are expensive, which reduces the interest when it is investigated.

Rob
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Unternehmensgröße: 51–200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

SQL Server - One of the most powerful databases

Bewertet am 9.11.2019

I have been working with SQL Server for 3 years at work and at home for my home projects. I enjoy...

I have been working with SQL Server for 3 years at work and at home for my home projects. I enjoy working with it. It is easy to install, easy to maintain for normal purposes and there are a lot of cool features even in the free versions - for example Express and Developer. I think that it is a very powerful engine - the latest charts also show this by putting SQL Server in one of the first places for the best Databases. I pretty enjoy working with it and pretty recommend it. For years, the companies where I have been working relied on SQL Server and my observation is that it proves its expectations very good.

Vorteile

1. It has different types of subscriptions - you can either test it with free versions, either use it to develop different projects or when you get in love with it - you can buy it with its powerful features.
2. It is a very good working engine.
3. SQL Server has stability, and the performance mechanisms are very cool.
4. You can maintain multiple instances and databases on one server.
5. There are a lot of built-in functions that developers can use, instead of writing their own.
6. Since the latest years, I think there are more and more new things to explore in newer versions - that is a point which shows that Microsoft invests a lot in their product.
7. It is reliable.

Nachteile

Since these years I didn't notice something which I do not like. On the contrary, I pretty like the product and all its features that I have been using through these years, and hope that in the future releases of SQL Server there won't be disappointing things, but only cool ones.

Giovanni
Giovanni
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bankwesen
  • Unternehmensgröße: 1 001–5 000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

A fairly robust database engine with excellent functionalities

Bewertet am 8.10.2021

As a database engine it is a very powerful and good tool, currently very portable between Windows...

As a database engine it is a very powerful and good tool, currently very portable between Windows and Linux systems, which allows you to choose between several operating systems for its implementation, although its cost can be somewhat high, it does not require an annual licensing to maintain its use.

Vorteile

A very robust and quite reliable database engine provides a wide variety of tools and options that allow you to perform settings as daily tasks in an efficient way.
Today it is compatible with almost any operating system allowing you to configure it in the environment that best suits your needs.

Nachteile

Although it is a very portable and robust database engine, its refusal comes with its licensing, which can be very expensive, also its resource consumption can be high in very complex tasks, this leading to the need to invest in very high-end resources in order to meet the demand.