3.318 Bewertungen

Gesamtbewertung

4,8 /5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Funktionen
98%
haben diese Anwendung empfohlen
3.318 Bewertungen
Michael B.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Bestes Versionsverwaltungs-System

Bewertet am 16.2.2021

Vorteile

Sehr gute Möglichkeit zur Versionsverwaltung von Source-Code und anderen textbasierten Dokumenten. Einfaches Branchen und Mergen/Rebasen.

Nachteile

Standardmäßig gibt es nur ein command line interface.

Alex T.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Marketing & Werbung
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Bewertet am 25.8.2019

Vorteile

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Nachteile

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Abdelmadjid H.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

An essential tool for any developer

Bewertet am 27.2.2021

GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

Vorteile

GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

Nachteile

There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Sarai P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Verlagswesen
  • Untern. Größe: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 6.0 /10

A software you don't really have a choice but to use.

Bewertet am 27.8.2019

I use github for version control at work. Our code goes up to two different sets of reviewers and this all takes place via github.

Vorteile

Github is really your only choice for version control. There are other platforms out there but Github has cornered the market. It's free, which is a bonus.

Nachteile

It's pretty difficult to start using. It's not intuitive at all. Many times, I have merge conflicts and when I go to edit them within github, it corrupts my branch. There are a lot of ins and outs and nuances that aren't easily navigated around when utilizing Github. I frequently get errors that have no documentation or support.

Larissa G.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Internet
  • Untern. Größe: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

One of the best code management tools

Bewertet am 24.1.2021

Very nice tool for students and professionals. I use it daily and is very easy to control code versions for a large team.

Vorteile

By far one of the best platforms to host any type of code. Once you learn how to use it, it allows you to manage code versions very easily, which is very handy for projects with many collaborators. Also, it has a great DevOps pipeline that are customisable.

Github has a really nice engaged community for open source codes, encouraging tech discussion and issue solving. Amazing community support! Besides that, an education/student plan is offered, allowing to have private repositories.

Nachteile

Not very easy to understand and use at first. Also, I've had problems when I wanted to download a single file from a repository, I either had to download the entire project or copy paste the file I wanted, which was not very handy.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Fotografie
  • Untern. Größe: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

The standard in repo management

Bewertet am 14.2.2021

We now have a good distributed code repository that is easy to collaborate with.

Vorteile

Github provides our team with an effective platform to collaborate on code and also gives us additional security insights into our repos with Dependabot. As it's based on Git we also have portability should we wish to move platform. We can enforce MFA across our organisation which is a minimum product requirement for us, and we also have superb role based controls available.

Nachteile

There was some concern over how Microsoft would handle the Github acquisition when they originally purchased Github but these concerns around privacy didn't actually surface into anything of concern. Unfortunately in the early days some outages also followed but these too seem to be in the past now.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

Best tool for collaborative code.

Bewertet am 30.3.2021

Github is a great tool for collaborating on all stages of software development. It's simple to use and feature rich. Always bringing new features that greatly enhance how teams work.

Vorteile

Github is a great tool for sharing code between teams, the pull request flow allows users to request review on their code and run CI pipelines that helps ensure great quality of software being delivered.

Github is always adding new features and improving how existing functionalities work.

Nachteile

Github has an enterprise version that works great for bigger companies that want to host their own instance, but this is rarely advertised and, because it is separated from the main software, makes it harder to collaborate.

Michael M.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Github keeps code safe

Bewertet am 16.6.2020

Very positive. Yes, there is a learning curve, but it's worth it!

Vorteile

I love that I can make changes to code within projects, try out new features, and see if they work without compromising the integrity. Complex projects can be managed with ease. Bug reporting for our team is top notch, and we even use GitHub as a company package repository.

Nachteile

It can be a challenge to learn, but I like challenges. Once we had a software engineer check in a file with a question mark character as part of a filename, which on many platforms isn't possible to restore. It took some research, but we were able to purge the file and carry on.

Emiliano P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

It's one of the first and also one of the best code management tools

Bewertet am 22.9.2020

I like it very much, I have used it for professional, freelance and code learning projects.

Vorteile

- World renowned
- Easy to use if you know git
- It has student/education plans
- They now offer free private repositories
- Github actions offer a free tier
- Github actions have a repository of ready-to-use code snippets

Nachteile

- The teams and corporate versions can get quite expensive when your team increases
- It doesn't have code indexing / search, only "jump to file"

Arwildo B.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Forschung
  • Untern. Größe: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

The best choice to store, find and contribute to a project

Bewertet am 14.2.2021

I use Github to store and manage my project's version control and to host some of my project code so it can be used by the world.

Vorteile

Github offers so many amazing projects and can be used as a basis for your project. Comes with integration with Git-CLI so you can commit and push a code to Github from your terminal/console.

Nachteile

From the last review, I complain about the UI that seems old and there is no dark mode, but now they updated their UI and support dark mode, so there's nothing to complain about.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Finanzdienstleistungen
  • Untern. Größe: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Great code versioning platform

Bewertet am 6.1.2021

Vorteile

Awesome features, safe and robust repository for versioning software source codes. Nice Devops pipelines with Github Actions.

Nachteile

None to complain. So far the experience has been pretty good.

Fidelis A.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 9.0 /10

GitHub Review 2021

Bewertet am 5.3.2021

My overall experience is awesome. Github to me is the best because they are doing lots of work to make it great for developers. The ability to collaborate and commit my code is second to none. Their Desktop version helps me to develop a great android app that I can easily be deployed to GitHub without lifting a finger. It is well integrated into android studio and it makes my coding work easier and faster.

Vorteile

Github is a great software for collaborating on coding projects. I use GitHub to create a coding project and store it in a code repository for easy collaboration, editing, and review. I use GitHub to crone open-sourced code projects easily, download and edit as a zip file or forked, which is a great feature that helps me to duplicate other people's projects for further contribution and collaboration. Github has helped me to update/commit my developed and produced code/application at intervals and versions( version control). Using GitHub I was able to host my web app projects for easy review by companies under view. It is easy to install and use both as a desktop and as a cloud software online (web). It can be integrated with hundreds of software and platforms.

Nachteile

Having used GitHub, I will like to highlight that I am only allowed to recover repositories that are not forked, and this is where public and private repositories come to play. I think the private repositories are not taken seriously because sometimes, we forked repositories that are publicly shown which one may not know if the editor actually keeps it private because if the editor does, I should be able to recover it as long as it has been forked and edited by me. There should also be an option that explains if the root code is deleted so as to avoid loss of everything. This takes lots of time and is under the premium package.

Pawan P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Best web version control

Bewertet am 1.3.2021

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Vorteile

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Nachteile

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Ankit P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Bewertet am 7.10.2020

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Vorteile

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Nachteile

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Naseeb B.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

Bewertet am 2.10.2020

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Vorteile

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Nachteile

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

Jason L.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Grafikdesign
  • Untern. Größe: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

As a designer who codes...

Bewertet am 22.9.2020

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Vorteile

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Nachteile

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Gabriel F.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Versicherung
  • Untern. Größe: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Bewertet am 23.9.2020

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Vorteile

Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Nachteile

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Matthew P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: Selbstständig
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Bewertet am 4.8.2020

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Vorteile

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Nachteile

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Chris V.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für 6-12 Monate genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Bewertet am 9.6.2020

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Vorteile

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Nachteile

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Bildungsmanagement
  • Untern. Größe: 51-200 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!

Bewertet am 9.6.2020

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Vorteile

It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Nachteile

It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Andrei P.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computerspiele
  • Untern. Größe: 2-10 Mitarbeiter
  • Monatlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Bedienkomfort
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 5.0 /10

Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition

Bewertet am 10.5.2020

I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately).

Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Vorteile

GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well.
The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found.
There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus.

GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page.

GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services.

Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper.

Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Nachteile

When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes.
Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations.

Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Best in class, world-known service

Bewertet am 20.2.2020

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Vorteile

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well.
Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Nachteile

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

Best source code management

Bewertet am 10.2.2020

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Vorteile

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Nachteile

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Adrian C.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Computer-Software
  • Untern. Größe: 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 10.0 /10

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Bewertet am 6.1.2020

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Vorteile

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Nachteile

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Dilanka H.
Gesamtbewertung
  • Branche: Informationstechnologie & -dienste
  • Untern. Größe: 11-50 Mitarbeiter
  • Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
  • Quelle der Bewertung

Gesamtbewertung

  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
  • Bedienkomfort
  • Kundenbetreuung
  • Weiterempfehlungsquote 8.0 /10

A universal level source code management system

Bewertet am 6.12.2019

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Vorteile

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Nachteile

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.