GitHub Bewertungen

GitHub

Social Coding!

4.8/5 (1459 Bewertungen)
Mit Google übersetzen

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 27.12.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Vorteile

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts

I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me.

-Very easy to get started use.
-Compatible with many other devices that are needed.
-Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly.
-Organizes the work depending on the latest changes.
-Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision.
-Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet.
-Has a great collection library to edit your work.
-Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Nachteile

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated.

-It works with predefined command.
-Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning.
-Fast and stable internet is a must have for success.
-You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

best ever git repository hosting service provider

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 14.1.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Github is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provide fast searching across all files. I recommend git hub to all developers who are looking for an simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.

Vorteile

GitHub is most popular git version control repository server. Github provides collaboration features such as project read me, wikis, issue tracking, pull requests, commit history, access control to various collaborators. It provides all features of GIt as well as adding its own features. Github provides a feature to compare two branches or two commits called pull request. A code reviewer can review and provide his commits on this. GIthub provides private repository for personal projects. We are using github in our each and every project as source code management.

Nachteile

If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is getting to grips with the github model, which requires practice and time. It costs to have a versioning repository on GitHub. Github GUI a little confusing to use and it is easy to use its CLI instead. Private repositories are chargeable. Bitbucket comes with Jira integration that is still missing in Github

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Essential for any sort of academia or software work

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 21.12.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

If you are doing anything in academia, even if you are a student, or anything related to software engineering you want to use Git. Note that there is a difference between Git and GitHub - Github is where your data is stored.
GitHub is also the biggest (to my knowledge) hosting service for Git so most likely it will be your first contact if you work with Git. Fortunately, it's also very good. The interface is easy to use (of GitHub, NOT Git) and as far as I can tell it has no downtimes. I have never needed the support so I can not rate that, but that is just a further indicator for the quality of GitHub, everything is either obvious from the get-go or well documented.
Even if you are just writing homework assignments, it's a good idea to back up your work using Git. If you are in the field of software engineering or doing "recreational programming" you might already be familiar with Git. In either case, using GitHub to host your Git projects is an excellent choice.

Nachteile

Every time I want to add a local, existing project to GitHub I have to Google how to do so. This is not so much GitHub's fault as Git's but there is a guide how to do this hosted on GitHub. However I can never remember where it is on the GitHub page without using Google, so that could certainly be improved. Once the project is hosted on GitHub however there are no issues from my side.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

It changed the way we code and back up systems in my place of work

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 20.5.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Being able to obtain and run entire working projects without even having to learn how git works
Being able to backup and restore projects with very simple terminal commands puts me and the rest of the team at ease
I have yet to see the site experiencing downtime meaning that I have never had any work delayed because GitHub was unavailable

Vorteile

I use GitHub mainly for research purposes and the huge availability of code has really supercharged my IT career. There are countless times when GitHub repositories came to the rescue when I was tasked with a coding problem what was technically beyond me. Their internal search engine is world class; you never have to use special search tricks to get what you are looking for. I also love the way they list the repositories; you are able to tell what a specific repository contains without clicking individual results.
The download option was also very convenient and useful when I didn't know how to use git; It was easy to download an import a project without having to spend hours and hours poring through tutorials.

Nachteile

I secretly with that It is possible to compile and run code snippets without having to download them into my computer.
Another thing that i don't like is having to open individual class files in new tabs; it would be better if there was a panel on the side that allowed you to select and click through to individual classes/files, sort of how modern IDEs work

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The best way to interact with Git

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 30.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Wonderful source control that allows us to code without worrying about things that have changed and caused problems. Easy to go back in your commit history and branch off to fix issues.

Vorteile

Personal Use: Whenever I want to spin up either an open source project or a home grown personal project I send it up to Github. I don't think there is another brand that has as strong a presence as Github. The amount of vendors that integrate with Github is one of the main reasons I am in Github. Pull requests are easy and the ability to do a code review is key.

Professional Use: Our team previously had all of our products in Github in Private repos which worked out great for quite some time. We have recently moved to VSTS but only because of the demands of our stack. It was easy to use and very cheap for our team. I can't think of a more affordable solution.

Overall Github has been a cheap easy solution for version controller of personal, open source, and corporate projects.

Nachteile

Getting used to interacting with Github through the command line can be a bit daunting. With our tools we had we were interacting via a GUI but would occasionally have to step into the command line to get some special operations done.

They could also have a better workflow for things like Kanban boards but now that Microsoft has purchased them we may see them move in that direction.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The best tool for collaborating on code

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 7.11.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Github has improved the quality of both my team's code and knowledge of our system and programming in general. Its tools for facilitating code reviews allow my team to share knowledge about our stack and domain while also providing opportunities to vet and improve the code we ship.

Vorteile

From commenting discussions on individual lines of code, to explicitly requesting code reviews from particular teammates, to integrations with various continuous-integration (CI) and deployment systems, Github is a fully-featured tool for vetting and tracking changes to your codebase. From the moment you push code up, Github can help your team usher changes through code reviews and approval processes, with all the details and history you would expect from a system built on Git. And with a powerful API and webhooks, Github has a wealth of extension points for building integrations to customize your workflow.

Nachteile

I'd like more granular control over which email notifications I get (specifically the ability to be notified of new comments on a pull request without also being notified of every additional commit). And while the Reviews feature which batches comments into an all-at-once "review" is central to my team's workflow, the inability to leave immediate, one-off comments in the middle of a review is sometimes limiting. Still, these are minor inconveniences in an otherwise powerful and flexible tool.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The best way to collaborate on code

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 26.3.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work.
GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use, and has a beautiful, clean interface.

When working in teams, the concept of pull request comes in very handy: one developer can "branch off" the main version of the project to work on a new feature. Once the feature is ready, the developper proposes a "pull request", to re-integrate the new feature into the main branch. Contributors to the project can review the code, giving precise feedback on the new feature.
I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams.

Finally, GitHub scores major points in the academic sector by providing Student and Institution accounts with unlimited private repositories, for free ("Student Pack").

Nachteile

Outside of the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricy, especially for a small developer.

As we come to rely more and more on GitHub to host code, any downtime becomes very critical. In the past few years, there were a couple of instances of GitHub downtime which affected my productivity.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Modestly Experienced

Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 5.3.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

The main benefit would be version control. Version Control also means that your project has also been backed up online for easy recover in case of onsite accidents. Their service works with a large number of third party software applications and services allowing you to add version control and deployment options to them.

Vorteile

Github is by far one of the best services for managing development projects.

Our company's primary use of Github is for project version control but Github also has a few extra features that makes our lives easier. Our company utilizes freelance programmers from working in different regions and Github makes it easy for each of us to work individually on a project without fear of overwriting or delete work that has been done. It also works well with Azure making deployment an automated affair. Once we commit to the master project the changes are updated instantly on our Azure web-server. It is also very easy to edit your code online via their website. Their windows desktop software makes working in Git easy and their GUI removes the need to work in command prompt. This ensures that even a new developer can work with version control. I am very happy with their product and services.

Nachteile

Github from time to time will still require you to have some knowledge of Git. You will have execute some commands via the command prompt or terminal. The online editor does make things a bit easier but getting the right versions to affect the master can still be tricky for a new comer. Keeping track of branches can become an issue but this is more a issue working with Git than their service. In the end you will have to take some time to learn Git and how it works.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Amazing version control, excellent code management and a fantastic place for programmers everywhere.

Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 17.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Version control, Ease of Use and Sweet Sweet Code,

Vorteile

Who does not love Github? It is the first place one would look in to find new softwares, helpful modules, and troubleshooting issues for any piece of application on your computer.
As a computer engineering student, I use Github a lot, and I mean a lot. The concept is very simple, and the website itself is intuitive to use. It's based on the idea of "push" and "pull", where you "push" to the repository (local first, then global for synchronicity sake and validation, as former is on your computer and latter is for everyone), and "pull" from the remote repository. It is so easy to set up on your system, you initialize a folder (it won't access anything else), and then either push or pull to it after installing the GitBash or GitGui along with the required Git. The best part other than being helpful to coders everywhere is its superior version control, barely anyone overwrites or removes unintended information or code, and everyone can see who was the last person with access to the repository. On the readme file on the website, one can add step-by-step instructions on how to run the code, so it is clear to everyone and anyone. You barely need the know how of anything new, just a few simple commands is all you need. Or if this is too much work, you can just download a zip file from the website and start cracking the code. There is so much for every type of user.

Nachteile

Some more options for bulleting and emphasizing text on the readme file would be nice, but nothing major at all.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Handle your code well, in essentially every context

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 20.6.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Most simply, hosting code and using it in various Continuous Integration contexts.

Vorteile

Github does most everything I want a git repository to do and does it well. Hosts code, allows (and facilitates) collaboration, has integrations that truly add value, has issues/pull requests that make sense, hosts static webpages with little effort, and so much more. Whether you're coding for yourself, within a large company, or involved in open source projects, Github deals with all of your concerns incredibly well (trust me, I've used it for all three use cases). There hasn't been a case where Github has blocked me from doing anything I need it to do, which is much more than I can say for other software. For something as simple as hosting code, Github has managed to do a whole lot more while still keeping it all focused on one thing: writing code.

Nachteile

The labelling system in Github issues isn't the best. With how incredibly freeform it is, every repository has their own complex system of labels. Projects is a decent feature, but making sense of all the issues a repository has (sometimes hundreds) is just overwhelming. It ends up just being an enormous list to parse and can be stressful to manage or just to search through.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Social Programming that works!

Wöchentlich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 17.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Software enthusiasts rejoice! Say hello to collaborative software programming and goodbye to unsaved work... GitHub helped me to work with more productivity and focused work, not worrying about losing code or keeping up-to-date with my colleagues.

Vorteile

I am new to this paradigm of being able to "commit" one's code and have versioning you can go back to in time... plus the fact that you can actually work collaboratively on the same project... This is really a wonderful tool for software developers and enthusiasts.

The free basic version has enough features to allow you to create a project and experience its wonders for you to decide if you'd get premium.

Sharing code, forking one's own version... this works at the heart of my personal Open Source projects and initiatives.

The interface if pretty easy to get familiarised with. It is intuitive enough, and easy to master.

It also comes easy with third-party app integrations. I use Atom for my software development projects.. and it has easy integration with it.

Documentation is a breeze as well. It makes it too easy and collaborative, which makes documenting one's projects... fun. This is something that you'd rarely hear from a software geek! (We hate documenting our work! hahaha).

Try this! You'll never go back to saving your code as: code_v1... code_v2... and just commit to Git!

Nachteile

Well.. nothing really. Maybe just a little concerned about the steep cost of having private repositories for non-pros like me... I mainly use it for personal, non-pro work. But so far, the freemium works for me.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Github continually improves its features

Wöchentlich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 10.1.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Overall as a team, we have used GitHub to host the git repository. This has ensured secure collaboration, provided clear history about users’ activities and debugging made a lot easier. The ability to work on numerous features at once has proved to be valuable for every user in the team. The only annoying thing has been the overwhelming notifications that are not customizable.

Vorteile

High compatibility. Github is compatibility with most of the cloud hosting services. Flexibility, Various systems and apps can be integrated into Github through Robust API, i.e. desktop and mobile integration. Provide users with an extensive library collection for editing codes. Github continually improves its features and has the best documentation that you will never run out of content. You can access collaboration and control features like bug trafficking, wikis for projects and task management features. With Github, you will meet thousands of developers and share your experience as the platform allow users to share their code and any other information. Finally, Github offers backup for your code. As a programmer backing up your code is the most critical thing and GitHub gives the user a chance to have their backup online and access it anytime.

Nachteile

It has a strict command line application that requires technical knowledge to manipulate the platform. Notifications can sometimes be overwhelming and are never grouped in a customizable manner. For users who only work on their side projects, the pricing is a little bit high. Github Repository can only be used by Premium members. File size restriction. The repository can only host up to 1GB data while the file size is limited to 100mb. For success and better experience, you must have stable and fast internet.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

8.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The Premier Git Experience

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 30.1.2019
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

I have been using GitHub throughout my university career and have found it to be a much more pleasurable experience compared to other version control software and other Git clients like Gitlab. GitHub has a more sleek design and is easier to use. It also offers more features and its social media features are awesome. It's great being able to see what friends and colleagues are up to and being able to contribute to open source projects with ease.

Vorteile

-Unlimited public repositories
-Searching is extremely well implemented
-Main host of open source software
-Branch management and easy merge process
-Easy to track code changes via commit messages
-Highlights changes made to your code in comparison to previous commit
-Desktop client has made it even easier to use
-Social media like aspects are great and allows you to stay up to date with friends and colleagues projects
-Built in issue tracker allows bugs to be fixed and features to be implemented in a timely matter

Nachteile

-Learning curve for non programmers committing to repo
-Specific set of instructions to follow and can lead to merge conflicts if not followed properly
-Depends on contributors and if not maintained may fall apart
-No way to view differences between branches
-Lack of project management features

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Excellent Git repository hosting

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 15.11.2017
Quelle der Bewertung

Vorteile

Easily share your code with team members, for QA'ing and bug fixing purposes.
Integration with various Git clients allows users to have full control over what goes in and out of GitHub.
Various built-in quality control features, making sure all work is up to an adequate standard. Pull requests force team members to double check any work submitted, and the 'Markdown' system that runs alongside that allows for total customisation of our documentation.
The user management system is also very useful, as it lets the team know who made what changes and when.
The in-built version control also ensures our code is backed-up and can be reverted if need be.

Nachteile

The user interface can be confusing for a newcomer, and the amount of options and features available can be overwhelming.
Once you have filled a repository with a lot of code, the whole thing can seem a bit daunting. As it just looks like one large wall of text.
Setting up GitHub to work with some Git clients can be a bit of a pain, but it all depends on which client you go with.
GitHub's own markdown code differs from the usual markdown code, so there can be some strange bugs you might not be used to.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The best tool to manage the versions of your projects.

Täglich für Mehr als 1 Jahr genutzt
Bewertet am 14.12.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

I use Github to collaborate in different projects within the company, as well as manage the versions of personal projects allowing me to work as a team with other people in addition to serving as backup of the work done, so it is possible to return to previous versions in case of failure or problems, as well as carrying out projects with the same structure but adapted to different requirements.

Vorteile

In general I love everything about this tool because it offers multiple features and options such as configuring the visualization of your repository, allowing it to be public, that is, visible to all, or private so that only the work team has access, which is very important to maintain the confidentiality of the projects.

In the same way, navigation through the code including those complexes, is very fluid and simple with options that allow you to consult the changes made in it, including the data of the person who made them, the time, date and other information of interest.

It is an excellent tool that supports and facilitates collaborative work among the members of a team.

Nachteile

What I like least is that even though it is a powerful and complete tool in terms of functionality, it is a bit difficult to learn to use it, at least initially.
Similarly, there are no free private repositories, which would be ideal at least a limited free version so that users can test its operation.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The standard for code collaboration

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 26.2.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Let's us store our git repositories in the cloud, and collaborate with developers easily. Reduces time in getting new developers integrated in our workflow.

Vorteile

Github is the easiest way to collaborate with other developers and store code. Years ago we used subversion and even tried other cloud options. Aside from git being a better solution for us, we used to have to spend much more time getting outside developers integrated in our version control systems. Today everyone has a Github account and knows how it works. Adding in an outside developer is as simple as adding their email as a collaborator to your repository.

Combined with its social features for open source contributions, at this point it seems crazy think of using a different solution. Pricing is very reasonable, and is now cheaper than what we paid for other VCS services in the past.

Nachteile

It's really difficult for me to think of something that I have a problem with here. I would say that I wish there was an official mobile app for reviewing commits on the go a bit easier. I would also like if built in analytics were improved. That said, even if these things never changed, I can't see myself leaving Github.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

The best place to host and version code of any kind.

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 28.8.2017
Quelle der Bewertung

GitHub is an incredible service for hosting any kind of code of versionable content. It's extremely affordable, even for an individual who wants to host a huge number of private repositories. It integrates with just about everything that you could want, to the point where you can even use GitHub's integration list as a portal to finding other great services you can use online.

Vorteile

It's nearly a perfect place to host code. Most things happen almost instantly on the platform, and there's a good chance every developer you know is a member of the site. Careers can be built from having an impressive GitHub profile.

Nachteile

There are very few cons to GitHub anymore. The platform continuously gets better and doesn't sacrifice anything in the process. If I had to give one complaint, it's that the structure of organizations can be a little bit weird, especially when it's used for things other than team members (such as giving a lot of crowd-funding backers access to a private repository). The activity stream on my dashboard is mostly useless in my experience, though that's likely not the case for everyone.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

One of the best code repositories with git very social and colaborative

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 11.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

It's a git repository whre you can store your code public (for free) or privately (paid). You can browse repositories from other people, it's very easy to navigate in the code and has a syntax highlight for almos every programming language.
If you see a interesting project you can link into your project as a library or if you want to contribute or create a personalization you can fork and create a "copy" of the original repository to start editing and change things you need, all of this is really easy to do.
You can see all the forks of a project and see what's the people doing and merge some functionality made for other people if you want. So it's very collaborative.
It has lot's of functionality like documentation webpages for your project, bug reporting and issue tracking, version control for releases, and all the thing included in git can be managed more visual (branches, tags, pull requests, etc)

Nachteile

It's really nice online service, the only thing I would like to improve is the code finder, that sometimes doesn't search all the results for a word or a symbol in the repository and you need to look by hand.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Best solution for software developers team

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 16.10.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

With Github I've solved a lot of problems having differents versions of my code (I never had to use my pendrive full of folders with the same projects a lot of times), it's a great tool and every programmer should use it and to be honest everyone shoud use github because it's a solution for sharing whatever you want.

Vorteile

One of the most important thing in programming is always have a backup of your code github gives me the change to always have this backup online so I can access to this wherever and whenever I want. Other of the best options that github gives me is an easy way to work with multiple peolple over the same project, before I used github it was a headache but after using this with only a command I can add to my project all my team's contributions in only a few seconds.

Nachteile

I probabably add a better visual interface for non-programmers, github is used mostly for programmers but I think this tool could be used for everyone but it need a simpler visual interface, so I could teach even my mom who's a teacher to use it for versioning her lessons, other thing I'd would add it's a service to run projects online It doesn't have to be free but would be a great tool for showing our projects and testing it.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

GitHub - The Largest Version Control Software as a Service.

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 17.11.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

We are using the GitHub Enterprise version and is helping as it having the larges community and user friendly interface also help you in working. Code review and Release management is also helping us to resolve the conflicts in the code.

Vorteile

GitHub work on open source Version Control GIT. It provide the solution to host the code for open source community as well as business. Code review is also very simple and easy in GitHub. Once you feel the power of the GIT you will surely jump to the GitHub Enterprise server as it come up with the on premises private cloud options which provide the high speed and best performance once you need to all code on a centralized location. GItHub is also having a great market place where you can find the a lot of apps that can integrate with the browser and help you in Coding or Releasing the code.

Nachteile

If your business is on close source then you can not jump play with access control section as a wrong option can make your code public. managing the permission is the complex part of the GitHub to manage as till default option everything goes alright but if you tangle with the wrong permission then a lot of issue your going to face in the future.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Powerful version control, great for collaboration... most of the time.

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 30.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

GitHub allows our team to have proper version control and increases our productivity with its issue systems. Many engineers are used to Git so getting started was quite easy and it's affordable price made it easy to pick from the rest.

Vorteile

I first started using GitHub back when I was a Student, thus I qualified for the GitHub Education Pack. They offer free private repositories for students, as well as multiple other premium services from other products for free. This pack is what got me to commit to GitHub instead of other Git storage providers.

I work with a small team of engineers, so we don't need any sort of additional issue tracking or project management products. GitHub provides repositories with an issue & task system. It works great, but there are a few features which would be a nice addition. It's quite simple but it gets the job done at no cost.

Nachteile

If you're just starting out and don't want to pay for private repositories - your only option is public ones. That is unless you get the education pack.

GitHub doesn't provide you with any backups, and there are some limitations regarding file sizes and total repository size if you don't want to spend money.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

8.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Github from a Designer and Product Managers Perspective

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 10.1.2018
Quelle der Bewertung

Vorteile

As a designer and product manager I mostly use Github to document software and manage projects. I love using the Wiki to document what needs to be built. Being able to use hyperlinks makes organizing my thoughts easy, and allows readers to get as many details that they need. I also use it to break projects down into tickets and communicate what needs to be built with my dev team. Project Boards are my favorite way to visualize tickets, and make it easy to see what needs to be done, what is in progress, needs to be tested, and approved for production.

Nachteile

I wish the workflow for creating tickets was more streamlined. I often create tickets directly from Boards, but this requires you to create a note and then convert it to a ticket. Also, when you convert a note to a ticket it gives you a pop-up modal that allows you to provide more information, but the modal doesn't have all the features that the new ticket page has. So typically I create a note, convert it to a ticket, and the click on the new ticket on the board to provide additional documentation and add the proper tags. This needs to be streamlined.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort

Weiterempfehlungsquote

9.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Great for version control system and learn code and to meet new developer...

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 27.7.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Vorteile

1. First thing first we as a team can work on any project and GitHub provide the version control for the same(Keeping track of the changes made by anyone)
2. Not just of my team I can see the ongoing projects and their code for lot of developer it's like dream come true feature.
3. I used to work with TFS (Team Foundation server) by Microsoft it helped me too but GitHub is way above it.
4. I can share my code with anyone publicly, I can hide my personal code as well, I can meet new developers and learn from them.
5. It has a nice Issues tab that track todos, track bugs and feature request.
6.Another interesting feature is an Insight tab that shows Active pull requests, Active Issues,closed issues and new issues. It's kind of a log in visual format.

It's best software in this segment.

Nachteile

1. It takes time to master the GitHub.
2. Its free for personal usage but does cost when purchased for team.
3. you will be working on command line interface to pull or push your changes from your PC that sometimes become boring.
4. Restriction on file size on the GitHub.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Mit Google übersetzen

Best repository hosting service on the market

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 24.8.2018
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

Overall, github as a versioning control system, is definitely worth the effort, time and investment as it can give you much more flexibility and peace of mind for any project.
I would recommend github to be useful for anyone who codes.

Vorteile

I work on linux and other open source projects; as far as I am aware most of the open source projects are hosted on github because its free and included nifty features like wikis, issue trackers.
One of the feature that makes using github so popular is using simple text editor for writing formatted documents and also there is vast documentation to get help.
Since github is more like showcase of code we wrote, it can be used as marketing tool and put in resume; it is better than linkedin profile in my opinion.
Also code versioning, integration with cloud platforms and syntax highlight for language support is second to none.

Nachteile

There is bit of learning curve during my initial days of github, but past that its smooth.
Even though the free model is sufficient to get started on github, the versioning and some advanced features cost and comparatively prices are high on github in my opinion.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10
Mit Google übersetzen

Hear the Octocat Roar

Täglich für Mehr als 2 Jahre genutzt
Bewertet am 5.1.2017
Quelle der Bewertung: Capterra

What can I say about Github?

Aside from revolutionizing business, application development, deployment and project management, this platform has given rise to such industry-wide standards as the "pull-request" and "repository forking". It is a veritable wonderland of networking & communication tools and helps to promote open-source projects by providing free hosting to anybody who supports code that is free (as in, beer).

I actually teach a class on using Git and Github and all my students are routinely surprised to learn how revolutionary this tool really is. I particularly love comparing the Github feature-set and straight-up rip-off artist that is Atlassian's Bitbucket. While BB too has morphed into a solid platform, it is clear that any success it enjoys is due to riding the Octocat's furry coat-tails into the binary sunset.

Couple all of this with never-ending new features being deployed on an almost monthly basis, Github truly is the greatest product ever. Now if we could only solve the countless DDOS attacks it suffers from, I could finally die a happy nerd. In the meantime, I'll be plus-one'ing random threads and drop sweet poop emojis everywhere from Rails to jQuery.

Vorteile

Constant feature improvements.

Nachteile

The big fat, script-kiddie target it wears on its forehead.

Verteilung der Bewertung

Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Bedienkomfort
Kundenbetreuung

Weiterempfehlungsquote

10.0/10